2023’s Top Horror Movies To Date

As we move to the halfway point of the year, it’s time to take a look at the top horror movies released thus far.  Keep in mind, this list will be revised and will certainly change as some of the big guns are released. 

At No 1, I have The Pope’s Exorcist. This is “based on true story” flick and as possession movies go, is definitely in my Top 3 of all time with The Exorcist and The Rite. Russell Crowe was excellent in the role of Father Gabriel and  Peter DeSouza-Feighoney as the possessed boy Henry was one of the all time great possession performances. 

At No 2 mists Insidious5: The Red Door. In what is supposedly to be the final chapter of the franchise, Patrick Wilson does a jam up job of bringing 1,2 and 5 all together with some closure for the Lambert family. 

At No 3, The Boogeyman gave us jump scares and a completely different story than the original short by Stephen King. It was a lot of coming of age mixed with the horror and honestly was difficult to swallow. 

At No 4 is Evil Dead Rise. Those who know me know that I am not a fan of this franchise because of my allegiance to true possession rules. But the gore in this and the superb performance of Alyssa Sutherland lands it on the list. Just because  I’m not a fan of the franchise doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate its value in horror cinema. 

At No 5 is Scream VI. I’m not a slasher fan but for those who enjoy the slash ‘em up gore fest, this is a solid joint. 

Not making the top 5 was Knock at the Cabin, which was really just another weird Shyamalan movie and M3GAN. 

There are still a lot of movies yet to go and some will, more than likely, make it into the Top 5. I’m looking forward to The Nun2 even though the first one was underwhelming; The Last Voyage of the Demeter, The Exorcist reboot, and an Indie film I’m curious about will be Shelby Oaks.  Also, this month will be the release of Cobweb! 

One thought on “2023’s Top Horror Movies To Date

  1. I’ve been a horror-lover of books and movies for over 45 years now (I know, this ages me, ha!) since the time I was 13 years old and started reading “The Exorcist” while babysitting my sister’s kids one night (it was her paperback). And I tell you, I was never so scared in my life! Consequentially though, it started a love of all entertainment that included demonic possessions (my fav!), haunted houses/cars/dolls/towns, vampires, shapeshifters, witches, monsters, cannibals, etc. They say the 80s were the best time for horror books and movies, but I disagree. The 70s were just as weirdly magical! Anyway, I am unbelievably excited for “The Exorcist” 2023 reboot due to be released in October! I will be in my local theater with a large buttered popcorn and warm snuggie in my lap, feet up, back comfortably-reclined, and eyes entuned. Maybe we’ll see you there…

    Like

Leave a comment